Home Sweet Home

139

2013-02-17_17-55-33_900

I already miss these beautiful scenes from home! The top picture is at a place that may look familiar to some of you reading this. It is at a place we call the West Place around the farm. The West Place is where we wean the calves off their moms when they are 8 to 9 months old, and put them in the feed lot. We feed them until they are about a year old, then we take them to Fort Scott, Kansas to sell them. This year there were 235 steers and heifers divided in these lots. We try to get the steers to weigh about 800 pounds before we sell, and this year we kept about 60 of the heifers for the farm. We just took them to Fort Scott last weekend. The second picture is a view of what you would see if you looked out of the window at my boyfriend’s house. I took this picture one night when we were getting ready to check cows.

I just got back to Springfield, and Spring Break is officially over. I came from a bunch of muddy gravel roads just a few hours ago, and I couldn’t help but get irritated when I had to stop at twenty stoplights as soon as I entered town. This doesn’t happen where I’m from! You don’t have to plan for traffic and stoplights every day. I’m going to miss the muddy back roads that make my car look far from the color black. Another great part about the country is these sunsets. They are hard to beat and I miss them throughout the week, along with the stars in the sky as far as you can see. It’s all these little things that really add up. I have always loved all of these things, but in this past year I have come to really appreciate them more.

About akm17

My name is Alex Morris, and I am from a small, rural town in Missouri called Ballard. I grew up on a row crop and cow/calf operation. I have always loved the farm life, and I have always been very active around our farm. Now, for the first time, I have been away from where I grew up and am experiencing college. It is always good to go back home to the farm, and I try to make it there as often as I can. It’s my favorite place to be. Being away has only made me appreciate agriculture more. Here, at Missouri State University, I am majoring in Agricultural Communications and I plan to have an emphasis in graphic design. My goal is to be an advocate of agriculture. The way I am going to start “spreading the word” of agriculture is through this blog. I plan to share the issues I may come across, things I find in the social media, or topics that we disucuss in my Relations in Agriculture class or any of my other classes. I will also share stories straight off of my farm. I will talk a little about what goes on around there, and post pictures whenever I can, because they are worth a thousand words that don’t have to be typed. I love to take pictures and to tell good stories. Sometimes I may even talk about life in general if I come across something that needs to be shared. Overall, I am a very stong believer in agriculture. It’s where my heart is, and I want to make people aware of what is going on out there, and bring things to their notice they may not be aware of. I believe that is my job as an agriculture advocate, and this blog is just where I am starting out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

