Snow, snow, snow

Recently, one of the popular topics around Missouri has been the weather. It has been snowing in Ballard, Missouri. The first snow hit last Wednesday night and now a second snow is hitting as I type tonight. For many, this is exciting news. Everyone loves a snow day right? For others, it is stressful knowing that they won’t be able to travel to where they need to be. For farmers, snow causes a little extra work and concern.
It is calving season right now. Calves are being born, and it isn’t very easy coming into this world when it is freezing out. They are coming out of their mommy’s stomach at 98 degrees and hitting the ground at 10 degrees. See why this is a problem? Farmers do everything they can to help their cattle though. We unroll bales of hale so they have a warm place to lie, and when babies are being born in the snow and freezing weather, we try our best to get them in the barn. Sometimes the babies even end up in our basement so we can dry the snow off of them and warm them up. If they are a twin or something goes wrong with the mom, we end up bottle feeding the baby for a while.
Farmers will do a lot for their calves, and do everything they can to make sure they are taking as good of care of them as possible. We keep a good eye on them and check them multiple times during calving season. My dad says it seems like the worst the weather is, the more calves we have sometimes. Even when there is snow covering the ground, eventually the day warms up and the calf is able to lay and happily soak up the sun.

About akm17

My name is Alex Morris, and I am from a small, rural town in Missouri called Ballard. I grew up on a row crop and cow/calf operation. I have always loved the farm life, and I have always been very active around our farm. Now, for the first time, I have been away from where I grew up and am experiencing college. It is always good to go back home to the farm, and I try to make it there as often as I can. It’s my favorite place to be. Being away has only made me appreciate agriculture more. Here, at Missouri State University, I am majoring in Agricultural Communications and I plan to have an emphasis in graphic design. My goal is to be an advocate of agriculture. The way I am going to start “spreading the word” of agriculture is through this blog. I plan to share the issues I may come across, things I find in the social media, or topics that we disucuss in my Relations in Agriculture class or any of my other classes. I will also share stories straight off of my farm. I will talk a little about what goes on around there, and post pictures whenever I can, because they are worth a thousand words that don’t have to be typed. I love to take pictures and to tell good stories. Sometimes I may even talk about life in general if I come across something that needs to be shared. Overall, I am a very stong believer in agriculture. It’s where my heart is, and I want to make people aware of what is going on out there, and bring things to their notice they may not be aware of. I believe that is my job as an agriculture advocate, and this blog is just where I am starting out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snow, snow, snow

  1. Raelynn says:

    Many a morning as a child I would have to alter my get-ready-for-school routine because there was a baby calf being warmed in the bathtub. And my dad says the same thing–cows wait for the worst weather to calve. It’s all in a days’ work for a beef producer!

Leave a Reply

