Guest Speakers

For this week’s blog, I have an assignment to make a top five list of fun facts I took away from this week’s speakers. There were two speakers that visited our public relations class this week. The first speaker, Lindsey Glass, works for Ozark Farm and Neighbor. She talked about how she keeps the social media up, and the fact that I got out of it was you have to keep it interesting and consistent if you want people to pay attention. She showed us how she does the Facebook page for the magazine as an example. She also taught us that if you want people to look at your company’s Facebook page you have to direct them to it. She does this by adding the link of the magazine’s Facebook page to the magazine’s main website. Another random fact that she mentioned was there is a high demand for graphic designers right now. So, those of you that know me know that this is what I love and what I’m aiming for. To hear this news was very reassuring.
The second speaker’s name is Christy Diebold. She does the marketing at The Springfield Leather Company. One fact I learned from her was how to approach your boss about new ideas that you may have for their company. She said you have to be prepared and confident in what you are presenting to them. I also learned about what Springfield leather is and what they do. I had never heard about it before. It definitely sounds like a neat place, and I would recommend stopping by sometime and checking it out. I learned that when you stop by, you may be running into a few Chiwawas!
So, overall the top five facts I learned was you have to keep social media for your company consistent and interesting, you have to direct them to your social media pages, there is a high demand for graphic designers right now, how to approach your boss about new ideas, and what Springfield Leather Company is. These are all pretty random, but I definitely got something out of it.

About akm17

My name is Alex Morris, and I am from a small, rural town in Missouri called Ballard. I grew up on a row crop and cow/calf operation. I have always loved the farm life, and I have always been very active around our farm. Now, for the first time, I have been away from where I grew up and am experiencing college. It is always good to go back home to the farm, and I try to make it there as often as I can. It’s my favorite place to be. Being away has only made me appreciate agriculture more. Here, at Missouri State University, I am majoring in Agricultural Communications and I plan to have an emphasis in graphic design. My goal is to be an advocate of agriculture. The way I am going to start “spreading the word” of agriculture is through this blog. I plan to share the issues I may come across, things I find in the social media, or topics that we disucuss in my Relations in Agriculture class or any of my other classes. I will also share stories straight off of my farm. I will talk a little about what goes on around there, and post pictures whenever I can, because they are worth a thousand words that don’t have to be typed. I love to take pictures and to tell good stories. Sometimes I may even talk about life in general if I come across something that needs to be shared. Overall, I am a very stong believer in agriculture. It’s where my heart is, and I want to make people aware of what is going on out there, and bring things to their notice they may not be aware of. I believe that is my job as an agriculture advocate, and this blog is just where I am starting out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

